ABOUT US


252 years ago (in 1765), the estate was created in the south-western part of the island, when several plots of up to 200 acres were conceded to Sir Simon Reminiac and Sir Claude de la Roche Ronzet. The land was used to grow sugar cane and, in 1802, a sugar mill was built. It was sold to the famous botanist Charles Telfair in 1816.

History


Under the influence of this visionary man of science and humanist, the whole estate and region experienced a tremendous growth. Charles Telfair was also known for improving the lot of his workmen. He also introduced innovative techniques to plough the fields and imported seeds from Europe and other places to enrich the regional flora.
 

In 1910, the Compagnie Sucrière de Bel Ombre was created by a group of people. They acquire the Beau-Champ and Sainte Marie estates, then the lands of Frederica in 1914, Bon Courage in 1934, Chamarel and Case Noyale in 1951, turning Bel Ombre into the largest sugar estate on the island. Back in 1951, the land and forests used for livestock farming and game hunting covered a total area of 10,000 acres.
 

The sugar production held a major place for decades, but was eventually discontinued in 1999. Since then, most of the cane grown in the region is transported to Medine. The economic activity today mainly rests on tourism and real estate development.
 

© « Bel Ombre, entre mer et montagne », Jean Pierre Lenoir, Editions du Corsaire, 2010.

Gallery


Contact us

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

À PROPOS

Il y a 252 ans, en 1765, naissait le domaine dans le sud-ouest de l’île, plusieurs concessions s’élevant à quelque 2 200 arpents ayant été accordées à Messieurs Simon Reminiac et Claude de la Roche Ronzet. Le domaine, où était cultivée la canne à sucre, accueillait vers 1802, une usine qui serait vendue au naturaliste Charles Telfair en 1816. 

Histoire


C’est sous son influence que le domaine et la région tout entière connaissent un essor considérable, notamment grâce à l’esprit d’innovation de l’homme, un scientifique doublé d’un humaniste. Il est d’ailleurs connu pour avoir œuvré à améliorer le lot de ses travailleurs. Il est aussi celui qui introduit de nouvelles techniques pour labourer les champs et fait venir des semences d’Europe et d’ailleurs afin d’enrichir la flore de la région.


1910 marque les débuts de la Compagnie sucrière de Bel Ombre, créée par plusieurs personnes. Les terres de Beau-Champ et de Sainte Marie sont rachetées, comme le seront un peu plus tard les terres de Frédérica (1914), de Bon Courage (1934) et de Chamarel et Case Noyale (1951), faisant de Bel Ombre la plus grande propriété sucrière de l’île. Les forêts et les terres consacrées à l’élevage et à la chasse comptaient pour plus de 10 000 arpents en 1951.


Si la production sucrière y tient une place prépondérante pendant des décennies, elle sera abandonnée définitivement en 1999 ; depuis, les cannes cultivées dans la région sont acheminées vers Médine, entre autres. Aujourd’hui, l’activité économique tourne surtout autour du tourisme et du développement foncier.


© « Bel Ombre, entre mer et montagne », Jean Pierre Lenoir, Editions du Corsaire, 2010.

Galerie


Contactez-nous

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.